Several Reviews Today (Sorry I’m So Far Behind On Posting)

beauty bravehighlander wild

amish Duchess

**I will try to keep the reviews short and sweet since there are several listed. 🙂

 

Let’s talk Beauty From Surrender by Georgia Cates

My rating: 3 stars

Beauty From Pain (Georgia Cates first book in this series) BLEW me away.  Jack Henry had me panting & wanting more.  I even liked the heroine, Laurelyn Prescott.  Then, I finally got my hands on the second book… I was disappointed. I mean, really disappointed.  Laurelyn’s character didn’t seem the same to me.  She wasn’t the same heroine that I’d come to like and cheer from the first book.  And Jack Henry?  Don’t get me wrong, he was great but just not as great as he was in Beauty From Pain. I felt as if the characters were too wishy washy. This one is a hard one for me to review, simply because I just loved the characters and expected more from the second book.  Georgia Cates is an amazing writer and she’s one of my favorites but this book didn’t do it for me.

Would I still recommend it? Yes.  The characters are forever etched in my heart and I’m glad they get their happily ever after.  If you haven’t read the series yet, please do.  I even heard through the grapevine that she’s coming out with a third book. I will be waiting in limbo for that one! 😉

My Brave Highlander by Vonda Sinclair

My rating: 4.5 stars!

Okie dokie. First, don’t judge this book by the cover just yet.  IT IS AMAZING. If you love historical romance or Scottish romance, this one is for you! Reading historical romance (I mean romance not sex) must be a pleasure. I want to indulge myself in lush writing, the great dialogue and banter. I want to feel the chemistry.  Without chemistry the whole point to the novel is dead. I’m so glad to say that this story was everything I was looking for in a romance novel. It was immensely touching and the ending will please you.

Wild Montana Sky by Debra Holland

My rating: 3 stars (barely)

Oh mercy.  Where shall I start?

I was so close to giving this book 2 stars but I chose 3 instead.  I feel like there was a good story plot in the authors mind but it just didn’t do it for me. I just don’t know how to describe it.

Elizabeth (the heroine) hasn’t gotten over her fiancé’s death… a death that happened 11 YEARS AGO! While reading this, I’m thinking, “Seriously? 11 years and she’s STILL mourning him?” But still I read on.  Then there’s Nick (the hero) that lives states and states away in good ol’ Montana. Nick could have been a good hero but he lost points with me by falling in love with Elizabeth because of a picture. A PICTURE! Ugh. Don’t get me started.  If you dare, read the book yourself. There were a lot of readers on Goodreads that really enjoyed this book but I didn’t happen to be one of them. Sorry.

The Best of Amish Friends Cookbook Collection by Wanda E. Brunstetter 

My rating: 4.5 stars!

**I received this ARC a while back from the publisher Barbour Books via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.**

I started baking and cooking recipes from this book a while ago. I LOVE IT! The directions are so easy to follow and the recipes are so delicious and tasty.  I wasn’t surprised.  These are Amish recipes we are talking about.  They are very similar to Southern cooking. I loved the pictures throughout this book as well.  I love when a cookbook has pictures to go along with the recipe.

I believe that Ms. Brunstetter does a wonderful job of rounding up all the recipes.  I would definitely recommend this to anyone.  You cannot go wrong with an outstanding cookbook such as this!

Any Duchess Will Do by Tessa Dare

My Rating: 5 glorious stars!!!

Get your butt to the bookstore (or in my case, WalMart) and buy this book! Or go online and download it. Holy wow!

I fell in love with both characters from the very beginning I was totally invested in the story and couldn’t wait to get to the next page. The writing was simply beautiful. The book is a definite hit for me. The plot, the characters and the romance struck the perfect chord and had me glued from beginning to end.

Thank you, Ms. Dare!  Your book made my heart smile and left me wanting more.

Leave a Reply

