Review: The Scandal Before Christmas

Image

 

4.5 stars!

 

Book: THE SCANDAL BEFORE CHRISTMAS

Author: Elizabeth Essex

Publisher: St. Martin’s

 You can never ever go wrong with a book (or novella!) by Elizabeth Essex. There is substance to her writing. It’s seductive and oooh-so-satisfying. 

 

I adored this novella! It’s fast paced, well written and fun. I love novellas like this. Ms. Essex writes exquisitely and I found myself lusting after Lieutenant Ian Worth.  He grabbed ahold of my heart and wouldn’t let go. Who doesn’t love a hard, rough & tough navy guy? Seriously.

Image

 

The characters are compelling and the storyline is engaging. The passion between Ian and Anne is slap-your-panties-to-the-wall-and-let-them-stick hotness! It was a while before I could cool down. *whew*

 

I love when characters in a book realize looks aren’t always everything.  Love is good. Trust is even better…. and when you find someone who makes you be honest with yourself, every bit of yourself, that’s a keeper.  That’s why I loved this novella. 

Image

 

I read several reviews from readers who didn’t like it. I think they had given up quicker than a fat cop chasing a teenager. Read it all the way through, ladies. You’ll be so glad you did.

 

Find a perfect excuse to immense yourself in this story. It won’t take you long. It’s escapism at it’s finest.  Do you really need another reason?

 

So, huzzah for Anne and Ian! It’s been one heck of an enjoyable read.

 

***ARC graciously provided by St. Martin’s Press via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review***

2 thoughts on “Review: The Scandal Before Christmas

  1. I love your reviews, Miranda. So refreshingly different. I haven’t read any of Elizabeth Essex’s books yet but I was lucky enough to win a copy of Scandal in the Night earlier this year. I’m looking forward to reading it.

Leave a Reply

