Why Dimes and Pennies are From Heaven by Melinda Curtis

RR@H Novel Thoughts & Book Talk

Last year, my family suffered two big losses – my sister-in-law lost her battle to cancer, and our 15-year old Lab’s body finally gave out.  We had been prepping for grief in both cases.  We’d been told by friends that they found comfort in associating “found” dimes and pennies with lost loved ones.

Immediately after each loss I noticed two things – dimes and pennies were everywhere.  On my morning jogs.  In the parking lot where I was running errands.  Once at the foot of my bed.  My husband, who collects wheat pennies, also started finding coins.  He was thinking about his sister as he drove through Taco Bell.  One of the coins he received in change was a wheat penny.  And then a few months later, when the grief wasn’t so sharp, the coins tapered off.

I was driving to the airport and thinking about my sister-in-law and how…

View original post 646 more words

Leave a Reply

